How to remotely erase sensitive data from your lost phone or computer

Do you sell your old things? Toys, shoes, clothes, and vintage jewelry are popular items for sale online. All you have to do is publish it, price it and wait for the offers to arrive.

It gets even more complicated when selling smart devices. It contains sensitive data that you don’t want anyone else to access. Smart speakers, for example, store small bits of information about you as you use them, including your location. Tap or click here for instructions on resetting your Alexa-enabled device.

No matter how careful you are, there is always the risk that you will miss things. You can leave your phone on a park bench or steal your laptop while traveling. In addition to the cost of the device, your data exposes you to identity theft, bank fraud, fraudulent purchases, and more. Fortunately, you can wipe data remotely before it’s too late.

Android

If you lost your Android phone, you can find it, lock it or erase it. You will need to have Find my device It is enabled before you can use these features:

  • open the Settings a program.
  • handle protection > Find my device. If you don’t see Security, tap Security and location or The Google > protection.
  • Make sure Find my device running.

To remotely wipe your phone:

  • Go to android.com/find and sign in to your Google account. If you have more than one phone, tap the lost phone at the top of the screen. If your lost phone has more than one user profile, sign in with the Google account found in the main profile.
  • The lost phone will receive a notification and you will see the approximate location of the phone on the map. If your phone cannot be located, you will see its last known location.
  • Choose Activate the lock and erase the data if it is necessary.
  • Choose erase device To permanently delete all data on your device. Noticeable: After taking this step, Find my device It will not work on this phone.

apple

Apple’s Find My app lets you remotely erase your iPhone, iPad, or Mac. Before this unfortunate event occurs, make sure you have Find My Maybe. For iPhone and Mac:

  • open the Settings a program.
  • Click on Nounthen press find.
  • If you want friends and family to know where you are, run share my location.
  • handle find [device]then turn it on find [device].
  • To see your device even when it’s offline, turn it on Find my network.
  • To send your device’s location to Apple when the battery is low, turn it on Send last location.

To turn on Find My for your Mac:

  • go to Apple menu > System Preferences.
  • click Secretariat & amp; Privacy and then Privacy tab. If the lock at the bottom left is locked, tap on it and enter the administrator name and password.
  • Choose Site services.
  • select file act locator services and make sure that the checkbox is next to find Selected.
  • click Finishedthen go back to the main file System Preferences Window.
  • click apple id and then iCloud.
  • Select the checkbox next to Find my Mac.
  • To make sure you can find your Mac if it is lost or stolen, click Options. check it out Find my Mac running and Find my network running.
  • click Finished.

If you lose or misplace your Apple device, here’s how to erase it remotely:

  • Go to icloud.com and sign in to your account.
  • click Find my iPhoneThen All devices. (Noticeable: If you don’t see “All Devices”, it’s because you’ve already selected a device. Click the name of the current device in the center of the toolbar to access the list of devices, then select a new device.)
  • Select the device you want to erase.
  • click erase [device].
  • Do one of the following, depending on what you want to clear:
    • IphoneAnd IPADAnd ipod touchor Apple Watch: Enter Apple ID password or your family member’s Apple ID password. If you are not using a trusted browser, answer your security questions or enter the verification code sent to your other devices. If you are on your computer and want to skip the verification step in the future, click trust. If you are using a friend’s computer, tap do not trust.
    • Mac: Enter Apple ID password or your family member’s Apple ID password. If you are not using a trusted browser, answer your security questions or enter the verification code sent to your other devices. If you are on your computer and want to skip the verification step in the future, click trust. If you are using a friend’s computer, tap do not trust. Enter a passcode to lock your Mac (you need to use the passcode to unlock it).
  • If the device is lost and you are asked to enter a phone number or message, you may want to indicate the device was lost or how to contact you. The number and message appear on the device’s lock screen.

If your device is connected to the Internet, it will start remote scanning after following the onscreen instructions. If your device is offline, it will start remote scanning the next time it’s online.

RelatedThe reason why the NSA warns “Find my phone”

windows

You can remotely wipe your Windows laptop but make sure you have a file Find my device The feature was enabled before this happened:

  • Sign in to your device with a Microsoft account.
  • In Windows 10, go to Settings > Update & Security > Find my device Make sure the feature is turned on.
  • In Windows 11, go to Settings > Privacy and Security > Find My Device Make sure the feature is turned on.

After doing that, you can now erase your device remotely if you need to. There are several ways to do this and we’ll show you how to do it using Microsoft Intune. This is a cloud-based service that allows you to remotely manage devices and applications.

The first step is to register your device in Intune. You’ll need to install the app from the Microsoft Store or sign in to the Company Portal website.

Now if your laptop is lost, you can erase it remotely:

  • Go to portal.azure.com/#home and log in.
  • Choose all services and filter in tune.
  • Choose Microsoft Intune and choose devices.
  • Select the device you want to erase remotely.
  • click wipe up and then yes.
  • The next time you turn on your laptop, all your data will be erased within 15 minutes.

You may also like: The Window Wipe Tool Leaves Some Behind — Here’s How To Fix It

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: